Extension of Deadline for Submissions – Book Award and Fellowship

Due to the sad and regrettable passing of Professor Chris Kobrak, who was chairing the CBHA/ACHA Research Fellowship and CBHA/ACHA Award for Best Book in Canadian Business History projects, we have decided to extend the deadline for submissions for both awards to March 31st, 2017.  The many individuals who have already submitted applications will continue to be considered.

CBHA/ACHA Research Fellowship

The CBHA/ACHA offers support for a research project in an area of Canadian business history.  Applicants are encouraged to think creatively in developing proposals that will result in an academic product (scholarly article, book project, digital, oral or public history project) that advances our understanding of some aspect of Canadian business history.  The field of study is open, to any area or time period, but the Grants Committee especially encourages proposals that embrace questions that emerge from the global and international challenges faced by Canadian business.  One particular area of interest for the CBHA/ACHA is the internationalization of Canadian financial services.

The successful applicant will receive up to $5,000 per year over two years, for a total of up to $10,000, to support the completion of the project.  Academic support and oversight will be provided by an Academic Advisory Board drawn from the CBHA’s membership.  The Research Fellowship is open to graduate students (MA, PhD., MBA), and postgraduate scholars at an early stage of their academic careers (within ten years of completing their degrees).

Applicants should include a cover letter, detailed project proposal, and curriculum vitae to be sent to the CBHA Grants Committee, c/o Professor Dimitry Anastakis, Trent University, Lady Eaton College N112, 1600 West Bank South, Peterborough, ON K9L 0G2.  Enquirees and applications can also be sent to danastakis@trentu.ca

CBHA/ACHA Award for Best Book in Canadian Business History

The CBHA/ACHA, Canada’s leading organization for the study of business in Canada, offers a bi-annual prize for the Best Book in Canadian Business History, broadly defined. The prize committee encourages the submission of books from all methodological perspectives. It is particularly interested in innovative studies that have the potential to expand the boundaries of the discipline. Scholars, publishers, and other interested parties may submit nominations. Eligible books can have either a Canadian or an international focus, which includes a Canadian perspective. They must be written in English or French and be published during the two years prior to the award, that is, in 2015 and 2016.  The award includes a prize of $2,000.

Four copies of a book must accompany a nomination and be submitted to the CBHA Prize Coordinator,  Professor Dimitry Anastakis, Trent University, Lady Eaton College N112, 1600 West Bank South, Peterborough, ON K9L 0G2. Enquires and applications can also be sent to danastakis@trentu.ca.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

9 + 1 =